Basil and Tomato Chicken

Basil and Tomato Chicken

Going with the fresh basil theme from last week’s pesto recipe, here’s another option for using fresh basil: in a marinade for chicken breasts. This Italian inspired marinade is wonderful for summer with the bright flavors of fresh tomato, basil, and balsamic vinegar. It’s super fast to prepare and needs only a few ingredients. Be sure to plan ahead, so you give the chicken plenty of time in the marinade.

This recipe comes from a very unlikely source, not one that I regularly scout out for recipes…About.com. Goes to show what treasures can come out of a Google search!

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts, boneless and skinless
  • 4-6 tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, loosely packed
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
First, chop the tomatoes into sections for the food processor.

Basil and Tomato Chicken

Combine garlic, tomatoes, vinegar, oil, basil, black pepper, and salt in the food processor.

Basil and Tomato Chicken

Reserve a small amount of tomatoes and basil. You’ll chop these for garnish at serving time.

Basil and Tomato Chicken

Process the ingredients in the food processor until the tomatoes are completely blended.

Basil and Tomato Chicken

In a large resealable plastic bag, add chicken.

Basil and Tomato Chicken

Then add marinade to the chicken. Make sure chicken in well coated. Seal the bag and allow it to marinate in the refrigerator for 6-8 hours.

Basil and Tomato Chicken

Preheat grill. Place chicken on grill and cook on medium heat for 10-12 minutes, turning once. Remove chicken from heat and garnish with diced tomatoes or chopped basil.
BONUS: the leftover marinade makes a great sauce! Heat it up and spoon it over pasta. Pulls together a whole chicken-with-pasta meal!

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a comment