Coffee Brewing Methods, Part 3

Toddy Cold Brew Coffee

Here’s a completely different coffee brewing method, the Toddy Coffee Maker. It’s a cold brew method that brews coffee overnight in your refrigerator. It makes enough to fill the glass decanter (shown above) with a coffee concentrate that you can keep in your refrigerator for up to 2 weeks. The Toddy works for iced coffee, hot coffee, and even tea.

The cold water brew and reusable filter removes all the bitter acids and oils, leaving you with a super-smooth coffee concentrate that’s a bit easier on the stomach. This method also seems to retain more of the caffeine, so be careful! It’s deceptive because the coffee is super smooth but I found myself feeling the effects of the caffeine even more with my usual size cup of coffee. So you may want to adjust your portion size to avoid the caffeine “jitters” that I got.

Toddy Cold Brew Coffee

First you need to start out with a very coarse coffee grind. I made the mistake once of getting coffee ground for French Press at a coffee shop (as recommended in the Toddy instructions), and it wasn’t coarse enough so it clogged the filter. I suggest grinding the coffee at home for the best results, that’s what worked out the best for me. The Toddy method takes a LOT of ground coffee; the container holds 12 ounces of coffee grounds and 7 cups of water. But remember, this is a concentrate so it goes a long way. You can make a smaller amount if you prefer by using 8 ounces of coffee with 4.5 cups of water.

To brew, you alternate pouring ground coffee and water into the plastic brewing container, put it in the refrigerator, and allow it to brew for 12 hours. The coffee is then transferred into the glass decanter for storage.

Toddy Coffee Maker

To serve, Toddy recommends a basic ratio of 1 part coffee concentrate to 3 parts water or milk. The great thing is you can adjust this to your own personal taste. The Toddy coffee concentrate is so versatile; it’s great for iced coffee but you can even add hot water for a hot cup of coffee. The coffee concentrate can even be heated with no bad flavor effects.

Toddy Cold Brew Coffee

Another bonus: the Toddy is not overly pricey. It retails for $37.50 on the Toddy Coffee Maker website, and I’ve seen it at a local coffee shop for a few bucks less. Not bad when you consider how much money you’ll be saving by making iced coffee at home instead of spending up to $4 every time you order it out.

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

