Spinach Basil Pesto

Spinach Basil Pesto

This was my first attempt at homemade pesto, and I must say it won’t be the last. I have a basil plant that needed some serious harvesting, so the time to try making pesto had arrived. I was incredibly pleased with this recipe! It has a bright, fresh flavor. I was curious about how it would turn out using spinach, but the spinach doesn’t overpower the flavor at all. It’s a perfect balance. I was planning on freezing a portion for later, but it was just too good; it was completely gone in a few days.

Pesto is incredibly versatile. Here are some serving ideas.

  • over gluten-free pasta
  • as a sandwich or wrap spread
  • over chicken
  • over spaghetti squash
  • with veggies (as a dip or topping)
  • freeze in ice cube trays for future use

I found this recipe for Spinach and Basil Pesto on AllRecipes.com.

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 cups baby spinach leaves
  • 3/4 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and quartered
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Spinach Basil Pesto

First, get all the ingredients together and ready to go. Lemon juice from a fresh lemon and grate the lemon zest.

Spinach Basil Pesto

Grate the Parmesan cheese. This is my favorite hand-held grater, the Zyliss Rotary Cheese Grater.

Spinach Basil Pesto

Place the spinach, basil, pine nuts, Parmesan cheese, garlic, salt, pepper, lemon juice, lemon zest, and 2 tablespoons of the olive oil in a food processor.

Spinach Basil Pesto

Blend until nearly smooth, scraping the sides of the bowl with a spatula if needed.

Spinach Basil Pesto

Drizzle the remaining olive oil into the mixture while processing until smooth.

Spinach Basil Pesto

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

