Coffee Brewing Methods, Part 2

Last week I reviewed the Aeropress coffee maker in Coffee Brewing Methods, Part 1. Now it’s on to Part 2!

Another coffee brewing method I liked was the Chemex coffeemaker. This method also yielded a smooth cup of coffee; not quite as smooth as the Aeropress, but darn close. Chemex is not quite as fast as the Aeropress either, but still faster than the French Press. The Chemex is good for making one cup of coffee at a time, but you can also get larger carafe sizes to make larger quantities. I got a Chemex in addition to my Aeropress so I could make a few cups at one time if I needed to. Plus, it’s fun to mix up the morning routine from time to time.

Chemex is a cone filter method. Chemex suggests using a regular or medium grind coffee. Peet’s Coffee suggested a grind for my Chemex at their setting #7 and it worked quite well.

Important first step: Chemex says to first wet the grounds slightly, not allowing the grounds to float. This allows the grounds to “bloom” so the desirable coffee elements can be released. After the “bloom” step you simply pour hot water over the coffee grounds.

Chemex Coffee

There are different size filters for different size Chemex carafes, so be sure to get the correct filters for the corresponding carafe. Standard filters from the grocery store won’t work; you’ll need the special Chemex cone filters. They run about $10 for a box of 100 on Amazon. Not cheap. The coffeemaker itself runs between $30-$40 depending on the carafe size. You’ll need to do a little “origami” to fold the filters to the necessary cone shape, since they don’t come ready to go right out of the box. But that’s part of the fun too.

It’s also pretty and looks good sitting on the kitchen counter. I got a newer model that has a glass handle instead of the traditional wood handle.

Chemex Coffee Maker

Cleanup is easy: the paper filter contains all the coffee grounds. Nice and neat.

There are still more reviews of coffee brewing methods coming in the near future. Stay tuned!

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

