The Dog House PDX

I love tater tots. They’re comfort food, they’re fun to eat, and they make you feel like a kid again when you eat them. When I went gluten-free, I thought tater tots were just one of the many foods of my past that I had to give up since they’re made with flour. Well, things have changed for the better. Thanks to The Dog House PDX you can enjoy tater tots once again…here they’re gluten-free!

Dog House PDX

The Dog House PDX is the home of the “insane tater tot bowls”. It’s a food cart located in NE Alberta in the “Holy Trinity”, which is a fashion and food cart pod right next to another gluten-free cart called Yogio (a future review).

The Dog House cart owner is gluten-free herself for health reasons, so the menu is wide open with choices. I even asked about the gravy, which is traditionally made with flour so it’s a big no-no on a gluten-free diet. But even the gravy here is made gluten-free. They’ve got vegan options as well.

Everything you order is served in a dog dish. Too cute!

Dog House PDX

At The Dog House the tater tots are not just a side dish, they’re front and center. Combined with toppings such as melted cheese, gravy, bacon, fried egg, or chili, they become the ultimate in comfort food. To order, you first pick what’s on the bottom of the bowl: either a hot dog or tater tots. Then you pick the toppings from the menu. I had a tough time deciding since there were so many fantastic combinations. Check out their menu, you’ll see what I mean.

Dog House PDX

My menu selection for the day: the Heartbreak Hotel. Bacon, fried egg, cheddar cheese, ketchup, and onions on top of tater tots. Brilliant.

Dog House PDX

Had no trouble finishing every last bit either.

Dog House PDX

Next on the list to try: The Rip City. Fried egg, pepperjack cheese, jalapenos, onions, Dog House kicker sauce.

So make an escape back to your childhood for a short time and visit The Dog House PDX. Tell your friends you were so hungry today that you ate out of a dog’s bowl.

The Dog House PDX
2124 NE Alberta
Portland, Or 97217
479-236-1452

Dog House PDX

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

