Restaurant Review: Earth Oven Pizza

Earth Oven Pizza - Hillsboro, OR

Earth Oven Pizza is relatively new to downtown Hillsboro; they’ve only been around since the Fall of 2010. I’m glad they came. It’s a fantastic thing to have a great pizza place so close to home!

Earth Oven has a real feeling of home and familiarity from the moment you walk in the door. There’s a very small dining area: 3 tables and a “bar” right by the pizza oven. There are always customers dining in, which is always a good sign. So if you plan to eat in, it’s best to come at a slightly off-peak time. However, I did hear inside rumors of plans to expand the dining area to the space next door. We’ll stay tuned!

Earth Oven Pizza - Hillsboro, OR

They offer gluten-free crust pizza, and dairy-free cheese is also an option. Their gluten-free pizza crust comes from French Meadow Bakery. It’s one of the best gluten-free pizza crusts I have had; it has a nice mild flavor and light texture (not grainy at all). It’s a thin crust, but I definitely prefer my pizzas that way.

Here’s where the magic happens…the wood-fire oven.

Earth Oven Pizza - Hillsboro, OR

Earth Oven Pizza - Hillsboro, OR

You can custom build your own toppings, or you can go with their menu items. Here are just a few of their offerings from the menu:

  • The Hot Chick – garlic chicken, mushrooms,asparagus, tomatoes, basil
  • Sexy Lady – add artichoke hearts, red bell pepper & feta to the Hot Chick
  • Meatza – pepperoni, bacon, Italian sausage, Canadian bacon
  • Queen Margarit – tomatoes, fresh basil

Can’t decide what to get between two pizzas on the menu? No problem, you can do a half-and-half! The gluten-free pizza option comes as a 10-inch pizza and runs $12, which is pretty reasonable. It’s a good size for two people to share…or for one person who wants to leave with leftover pizza for breakfast. The latter is definitely my preference.

My pizza of choice for the evening: the Meatsa. I’ve been to Earth Oven twice now, and both times I’ve ordered the Meatsa on at least half a pizza. I know I need to branch out and try some new ones on the menu, but it’s tough not to go with this one! It’s so tasty.

Earth Oven Pizza - Hillsboro, OR

If you want a great gluten-free pizza that’s not overpriced, this is the best place to go in Hillsboro!

Earth Oven Pizza
337 E. Main Street
Hillsboro, OR 97123
503-747-7743

Earth Oven Pizza - Hillsboro, OR

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

