Cranberry-Pumpkin Nut Muffins

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

This is a great breakfast muffin since it’s not too sweet and it’s nice and hearty. The recipe is super easy and quick. I’m a “lazy baker” so any baking recipe that is not very labor intensive is always best in my book. I found this recipe in two places: originally posted on Caveman Food and adapted by The Frisky Lemon.

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 cups almond meal
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (or use 1-1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of the three spices)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  • unsweetened coconut flakes (optional for topping)

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

First, mix together the dry ingredients in a medium-sized bowl.

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

Beat the eggs in a small bowl and add in the wet ingredients.

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix gently until combined.

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

Gently fold in the cranberries and nuts.

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

Spray muffin tins lightly with a nonstick oil. Fill to about level with the top, not too high since these muffins do rise quite a bit. The recipe makes an odd number of muffins; I got 8 muffins total out of the batch. They’re shown here split up in 2 smaller muffin pans, since that’s what I’ve got in my kitchen. I tend to bake more in my toaster oven because it does a better job than my regular-sized oven.

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

Fill the unused muffin spaces halfway with water. This is important; adding some water to the empty cups will help evenly distribute the heat from the oven, keeps your pan level, and it keeps your muffin pan from warping during the cooking process.

I topped a few with the coconut flakes. Makes them look pretty too!

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

Bake at 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes. Be careful removing the pans with the hot water inside! Place the muffins on a rack to cool. Makes 8 muffins.

Gluten-Free Cranberry Nut Muffins

Caveman Food had some great suggestions for variations: substituting pureed bananas for the pumpkin, or substituting up to 1/2 cup of ground flax seeds for the almond flour. I’m going to try both of those substitutions next time, I’ll let you know how it works out! Let me know how your variations go too.

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

