Restaurant Review: Solstice Wood Fire Cafe in Bingen, WA

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

I took advantage of the beautiful sunny Saturday we had a few weeks ago and went to Hood River for the day. Just across the Washington border, I was lucky enough to find the Solstice Wood Fire Cafe in Bingen, WA.

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

Solstice uses a wood fire oven to bake their gourmet pizzas. Their blackboard wall says it all. “We have gluten-free crust”. Pizza with gluten-free crust??? Suddenly I hear choirs singing. I felt like I’d hit the jackpot, and I had to try it out.

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

You can choose a pizza from the menu, or build your own creation by picking your own toppings. Their small size pizzas (also the size they make all their gluten-free crust pizzas) start at $11, depending on the toppings you choose. Not bad at all. And they don’t charge you extra for getting the gluten-free crust either; all pizzas are the same price regardless. Major kudos to Solstice for not charging extra to go gluten-free!

I went with the pizza special of the day: tinging Nettle Garlic Pesto, feta cheese, mozzarella, and Morel mushrooms.

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

The stinging nettle pesto was amazing; it had a light flavor and it was incredibly fresh. And they give you plenty of it. The crust has a nice mild flavor and it didn’t crumble apart or taste grainy. It is very thin (as all gluten-free crusts are) and that’s OK because I prefer the thin crust anyways. It was a perfect balance of flavors.

If you’re looking for a gluten-free drink to go with your pizza, Solstice offers Bard’s gluten-free beer or Woodchuck Hard Cider.

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

For desserts, they offered a flourless chocolate cake with raspberry sauce. I couldn’t say no to that. And I’m so glad I didn’t.

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

Their menu changes with availability of seasonal ingredients, so check in for their current specials. Thanks Solstice, for making gluten-free a real treat.

Solstice Wood Fire Cafe
415 W Steuben Street (Hwy 14)
Bingen, WA 98605
509-493-4006

Solstice Cafe - Bingen, WA

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

