Butternut Squash “Lasagna”

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Who doesn’t love lasagna? For those who have to stay gluten-free, it usually means using a gluten-free lasagna noodle to replace the regular noodles in a standard lasagna recipe. Cool thing about this recipe is that you don’t need noodles of any kind. I like that it’s naturally gluten-free; plus, it eliminates a trip to the store to buy some sort of pricey specialty gluten-free item to make the recipe work. Another cool thing about this recipe is that it uses only 8 ingredients. Plus, no dairy and no gluten.

Lasagna of any kind is always a bit labor-intensive and requires a good amount of prep time. You may want to save this recipe for a weekend when you can take some time and enjoy the process.

  • Prep time: 40-ish min
  • Bake time: 45 min
  • Rest time: 30 min

I adapted this recipe from Health-Bent, a Paleo recipe website.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb bulk hot Italian sausage (or regular sausage with casing removed)
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 15-oz can pizza sauce
  • 1/2 cup roasted red peppers
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • a few fresh basil leaves (or dry basil to taste)
  • 1 small butternut squash (not too large, otherwise you’ll have lots of leftover)

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Cut the ends off the butternut squash and peel the skin off.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Next, cut the butternut squash into quarters. Scoop out the seeds; don’t worry too much about getting every last string cleaned out, it won’t matter in the end.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

The original recipe has you slice the squash into “planks” to emulate a lasagna noodle. OK, time for a little honesty here: I’m not so speedy with the whole slice-and-dice aspect of cooking and I didn’t want to spend an hour just slicing the damn thing. I took a little shortcut and sliced the large sections of squash with my beloved food processor. Who cares if the squash isn’t in nice long “lasagna noodles”? No one eating it will mind, I can assure you.

Depending on the size of your processor and/or your squash, you may need to cut your squash into even smaller sections to fit through the feeder. Hooray for the slicing disc.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Butternut Squash Lasagna

In a pan, soften the onions over a low heat with the garlic. Add the crumbled sausage and cook until it’s browned.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

While the sausage is cooking, prepare your sauce by combining the pizza sauce, red pepper, olive oil, and basil in a blender or food processor.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Farenheit.

OK, all the pieces are in place, time to layer the lasagna! Get out a 9×9-inch baking dish or pan. Start with a layer of sauce for the bottom to prevent any sticking. Be sure to save enough sauce for the top layer at the end.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Next layer is the squash slices. You can overlap slightly, no big deal.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Last layer is the sausage. Layer this sparingly, you have another layer to go!

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Repeat the layers once again: sauce, squash, and sausage. End with a final layer of squash and top with the last of the sauce.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Bake uncovered for 45 minutes until the lasagna is bubbling and the top is slightly crispy.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Allow the lasagna to rest for a half hour so it has a chance to set before you slice into it.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

