Restaurant Review: Deschutes Brewery

I went to Deschutes Brewery for the first time. I kept hearing so many good things about it, I just had to try it out.

First off, I was impressed with the separate gluten-free menu that was offered, and the number of choices! Burgers with gluten-free buns, appetizers, chicken wings, salads, even gluten-free breadsticks. It was nice to have such a wide selection for a change. They also don’t charge you an extra $1 for the gluten-free bun, like so many other places do. Major kudos to Deschutes for keeping the burger prices the same on both menus.

Loved the house made ginger ale and root beer too, delish!

I wish they had a few more gluten-free choices for drinks. I’ve read reviews on Yelp that mention a gluten-free beer. I didn’t see one listed on the regular beer menu or on the gluten-free menu, though I may have missed it. They only offer one hard cider, and it’s in a wine-sized bottle. So a glass of wine is your other option.

So here’s why I gave Deschutes Brewery only a 3 star review on Yelp:

Deschutes Brewery - Portland, OR

When I ordered, I prefaced my order by saying, “I’d like to order this off of the gluten-free menu.” I ordered the garlic burger with sweet potato fries, and I thought I was safe. I took my first few bites, and I thought the bun was awfully soft and spongy for being gluten-free. I then realized it looked just like the regular burger bun and I got suspicious. I asked the server about it, and his eyes widened. He realized he’d forgotten to write down “gluten-free” on the order pad! He quickly changed my plate and my burger was replaced with a square-shaped bun and new fries. He then let me know, “By the way, the mustard isn’t gluten-free.” Great, after I’d polished off my batch of fries from the first plate while dipping them in both mustard and ketchup. Thanks for not telling me in advance. The damage was done.

In the end, the burger was quite good. The gluten-free bun had a nice, soft texture and mild flavor.

You’d think with the special gluten-free menu offered, the servers would be more aware. A situation like mine can be disastrous for some people who are extremely gluten-intolerant. They were lucky I’m not quite as intolerant as some are, though I felt some mild ill-effects the day after.

So if you order at Deschutes in the future and you need to stay away from gluten…don’t touch the mustard sitting out on the table, and make sure your burger comes with a square-shaped bun! Just in case your server does not forewarn you.

Hey, I know we all make mistakes; some mistakes are just a bit more costly than others. I will give Deschutes another try sometime in the future, now that I know what to watch for. When my tummy feels better. And when I’m feeling braver.

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

