Bisquick Gluten-Free Pancake and Baking Mix

Photobucket

Betty Crocker, a major food brand, has joined in on the gluten-free market. Bisquick Gluten-Free Pancake and Baking Mix is here. Lucky for us! With the familiar name of Bisquick on the box, I had to try it. Besides, I had to find something to satisfy that occasional pancake craving.

Rice flour is the main ingredient, and it’s made in a gluten-free processing facility. It’s definitely not the healthiest gluten-free pancake mix out there (sugar is the second ingredient on the list), but these are the best gluten-free pancakes I have tasted. Use a tad less milk than called for on the box recipe, and they come out light, fluffy, and thick. Just like the pancakes you remember having before going gluten-free. In fact, I have several friends (who are not gluten-free) who tried the Bisquick gluten-free pancakes and reported that they couldn’t really tell the difference from regular pancakes.

Photobucket

I’ve tried just a few brands that taste good, like the Bob’s Red Mill pancake mix, but they all end up flat and thin with a bit of a grainy texture. So the Bisquick pancakes were such a nice surprise. They’re the complete pancake package: light, fluffy, thick, and great taste. I’m going to try a few other brands out there in the future to compare, but for right now Bisquick is a great option.

Bisquick has a lot of good specific information and FAQ on their website about cooking with the gluten-free mix. For instance, the gluten-free pancake mix can’t be substituted in other Bisquick recipes. However, they offer lots of specific gluten-free recipes on the Bisquick website. There’s even a product locator to help you find a local store that carries it. Another interesting little detail; it’s supposed to be refrigerated after the package has been opened.

Now I’m certainly not an advocate of processed foods; in fact, I try to stay away from them for the most part. But I’ve been learning that sometimes you have to cut yourself a break and allow a little indulgence now and again.

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

One Response to “Bisquick Gluten-Free Pancake and Baking Mix”

  1. Thanks for posting this. I have to see if I can find some. I just started the gluten free path. I bought King Arthurs pancake mix. Not sure how that will work out with me, but willing to try it atleast. I will make the switch later this week.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

