Cruise In Country Diner

Ever been to Cruise In Country Diner? You’re in for a real treat.

Cruise In Country Diner

Cruise In Country Diner

Cruise In is a great little diner in Hillsboro, Oregon. Music and memorabilia from the 50′s and 60′s fill the place, even their menu evokes the style with classic car names in the titles of every dish. You can dine inside, or on nice weather days there’s a back patio.

Cruise In Country Diner

Cruise In Country Diner

Cruise In Country Diner

There’s something special about eating a hamburger on a bun. I missed that. Being gluten-free, I was resigned to the idea of forever eating my burgers with a knife and fork anytime I went to a restaurant. Well, that’s not the case anymore. More and more restaurants are providing a gluten-free bun option for their customers, and Cruise In is one of those places.

Cruise In offers a super-tasty gluten-free bun from Laurel’s Sweet Treats in Tigard, OR. Nice and crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. The buns are pretty big and a bit dense in texture, so the flavor of a burger with no toppings can get lost. My suggestion is to go with a flavorful burger for the best balance between burger and bun. My favorite is the Hot Rod: pepperjack cheese with jalapeno peppers.

Cruise In Country Diner

Beef for the burgers is provided locally by Country Natural Beef. It’s local grass fed beef…no wonder it’s so good. In fact, Cruise In sticks with local providers for everything they can.

Cruise In offers Redbridge gluten-free beer as well as Spire Pear Cider on tap (pictured below). I love this cider, it’s nice and dry and I get it almost every time I come here. Try out their homemade root beer on tap, it’s pretty amazing. Wednesday night special: $1 drinks with your burger!

Cruise In Country Diner

Another food I thought I’d have to do without was chicken strips, since they’re breaded…once again, I’ve been proven wrong. Brand new on the Cruise In menu: gluten-free chicken strips, a.k.a. “Drag Strips”. It’s so fantastic to have chicken strips once again! All fries are gluten-free too, did I mention?

Cruise In Country Diner

And for dessert…a gluten-free brownie with a side of vanilla ice cream topped with hot fudge. Truly decadent. Save room for it, if you can. What an amazing brownie from Laurel’s Sweet Treats! It’s the best one I’ve had for sure.

downsized_0615112055

Cruise In is such a great place to go for so many gluten-free options! Burgers, fries, chicken strips, beer, cider, dessert…they’re all a safe option here.

Cruise In Country Diner
9785 SW River Road
Hillsboro, OR 97123
503-628-0500
Hours: Wednesday thru Sunday 11AM-9PM

Cruise In Country Diner

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

One Response to “Cruise In Country Diner”

  1. Thank you for the informative review. I’m hunting out new haunts since hubby is not gluten-intolerant. This looks like one worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

