Coffee Brewing Methods, Part 1

I love coffee. I love the taste of coffee; I’m one of those rare people who drink it black. I enjoy the ritual of making coffee; I look forward to it every morning. I especially enjoy having the time to kick back, relax, and slowly sip that perfect cup.

A few months ago, my electric coffee maker decided to break down. It was my second coffeemaker in 4 months, which in my opinion is one too many times. Who has the money to keep replacing coffeemakers every few months? Thanks to Bed Bath and Beyond’s return policy I was covered, but I knew there had to be a cheaper and better solution out there for me. So I started to explore other options for making coffee that didn’t include an electric coffeemaker.

I’m trying several different hot coffee brewing methods, and sharing my findings here. For all you coffee connoisseurs: sorry, but I’m not bothering to check the water temperature. I’m just heating the water to the boiling point in my stovetop teakettle and going with it as it is.

Here’s my new favorite coffee brewing method – the AeroPress Coffee & Espresso maker. It is a single cup coffee and espresso maker, so this method is best for brewing one cup at a time.

Aeropress Coffee

I consulted the experts at Stumptown Coffee; I knew I’d get some good advice there. An employee there suggested the Aeropress to me, and I’m so glad he did. He mentioned that the Aeropress is great for travel because of its compact size. I loved the idea of being able to make my own coffee on a trip and not spending the money to buy it out all the time! The Aeropress even comes with a cloth travel pouch and 300 small disc-shaped paper filters.

The Aeropress yielded a super smooth cup of coffee. It’s fast, easy, compact, hardly any cleanup, and it’s CHEAP! I paid $35 for it.

Aeropress Coffee

Instructions for using the Aeropress are easy. And cleanup is so simple! The filter unscrews and you just pop out the grounds with the plunger. Grounds are already pressed together and in the trash. Rinse off the plunger, and that’s IT! Cleanup is DONE. Quick brew, quick cleanup.

I ended up using one level scoop of coffee grounds for one cup of coffee.

Aeropress Coffee

Next week I’ll be reviewing another coffee brewing method. Stay tuned!

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coffee Brewing Methods, Part 2 | Gluten Free Fever - 06/02/2011

    [...] week I reviewed the Aeropress coffee maker in Coffee Brewing Methods, Part 1. Now it’s on to Part [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

