Easy 5-Ingredient Chicken Recipe: Citrus Chicken!

Citrus Chicken

This is a perfect recipe for those times when you just don’t feel like putting in a lot of time in the kitchen. There’s only a few minutes of prep time involved; just be sure to allow for 90 minutes of baking time. The chicken comes out nice and moist, with a wonderful sweet citrus sauce that’s great over a side of veggies. Plus, the recipe only requires 5 ingredients, how simple is that? A great result with minimal effort.

You’ll get lots of leftover chicken, if you’re only cooking for two. Perfect for salads or any recipe you’ve got that calls for cooked chicken.

I adapted this recipe from 100 Meals for $5 or Less by Jennifer Maughan. It’s a great little cookbook with lots of good (and uncomplicated) ideas. Not all the recipes are gluten-free, but many can be adapted like this one.

Ingredients

  • 8 pieces of bone-in chicken (any combo of breast, thigh, or drumsticks)
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 6-oz can frozen orange juice, thawed
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup wheat-free tamari sauce

Citrus Chicken

First, get out a 9×13″ baking dish out. You don’t want to go any smaller than this; the recipe has a lot of liquid and it can boil over and make a mess if your pan is too small.

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Pat the chicken dry with a paper towel and set into the baking dish. I like using a combo of chicken breast, thigh, and drumstick. I can usually squeeze in an extra drumstick or two if they’re small.

Citrus Chicken

In a medium saucepan, combine the melted butter, orange juice, honey, and tamari over low heat.

Citrus Chicken

Pour the sauce over the chicken.

Citrus Chicken

Cover the pan with foil.

Citrus Chicken

Bake for 1-1/2 hours at 325F.

Citrus Chicken

Be careful removing the pan from the oven! There’s lots of liquid in the pan that can easily spill over.

Citrus Chicken

Use that sweet citrusy sauce to top steamed broccoli on the side, or whatever veggie you’ve got handy in the fridge. Super easy!

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

One Response to “Easy 5-Ingredient Chicken Recipe: Citrus Chicken!”

  1. CHicken! My favorite:) It’s the only meat I eat, SO, I am ALWAYS looking for new recipes!
    Please feel free to stop by and say hi.
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com
    xoxo
    bB

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

