Thursdays are BEST at Great Harvest Bread Co. in Hillsboro

Great Harvest Bread Co - Hillsboro, OR

I look forward to when Thursday rolls around every week. Why? Because every Thursday at Great Harvest Bread Co in Hillsboro I can get a fresh baked loaf of gluten-free bread, chocolate chip cookies, and brownies. Or even a sandwich made on gluten-free bread. For that one day, the whole world seems to open up wide with choices and options, and that’s the biggest treat of all for those in the gluten-free world.

All of Great Harvest’s gluten-free loaves are light and moist; a texture you just don’t get from the frozen loaves in the grocery store freezer. They offer two selections of bread loaves every week: the whole grain and garlic cheddar bread. The whole grain bread makes great sandwich bread; it’s mild flavor won’t compete with any sandwich fixings you use. The garlic cheese bread is rich and flavorful, it’s great toasted.

They also offer two revolving bread loaf flavors every other week: the Dakota and Cinnamon Chip.

The Dakota is full of yummy seeds: sunflower, pumpkin, sesame, and millet. Perfect for breakfast toast or as a snack.

Great Harvest Bread Co - Hillsboro, OR

I absolutely LOVE the Cinnamon Chip bread. It feels almost decadent whenever I toast a slice of this bread.

Great Harvest Bread Co - Hillsboro, OR

Hint: try toasting the Cinnamon Chip bread and top with a thin layer of light cream cheese. It’s like eating a warm cinnamon roll with frosting on top. Another favorite combo of mine: Cinnamon Chip bread topped with almond butter.

Great Harvest Bread Co - Hillsboro, OR

It’s best to call ahead the day before and reserve a loaf of bread, otherwise you may miss out! They tend to start running out of gluten-free loaves by the early afternoon. Reserve a brownie or chocolate chip cookie too, they can be gone by lunchtime.

I lucked out one random Thursday when they decided to try a gluten-free olive bread. Oh, this bread is amazing. Made a fantastic sandwich bread, or even just plain toasted. I’m hoping they bring it back! There was talk about adding rosemary garlic bread as a new flavor as well. The owner told me they’re going to be changing their gluten-free menu with new flavors soon, so be sure to call them or check their website for their current gluten-free lineup. I will post an update when they do!

When it comes to ordering sandwiches on gluten-free bread, order what they call a “half sandwich”. Because the gluten-free bread loaves are a tad smaller than the regular loaves, they consider it to be half size. It’s plenty big, trust me.

Club “half sandwich” with turkey and bacon
Great Harvest Bread Co - Hillsboro, OR

Tuna salad “half sandwich”
Great Harvest Bread Co - Hillsboro, OR

Now for dessert: brownies or chocolate chip cookies? It’s a tough choice, they’re both fantastic.

Great Harvest Bread Co - Hillsboro, OR

The brownies are a bit on the sweet side, especially with the chocolate chip topping. They’re nice and moist.

I start thinking about the chocolate chip cookies by Tuesday…have to wait, though! They’re crispy on the edges, moist towards the center. And they’re BIG like the brownies!

Great Harvest Bread Co is definitely worth a trip. Maybe I’ll even see you on one of my weekly Thursday visits.

Great Harvest Bread Company – Hillsboro
2105 NW 185th Avenue
Hillsboro, OR 97124
Tel: 503.466.1112

About Carla

My name is Carla Bray, and I'm a website designer and developer. I provide website design, content management, copywriting, and SEO. My goal is to create simple websites that look clean, are easy to navigate, and quick to find the information you want. I'm also a social media guru...in other words, I spend way too much time on the web. Just to give you an example, I implemented and maintain a Facebook page for The Path Bike Shop, a local bike shop in Tustin, CA. This page has grown to almost 2500 "likes", an accomplishment I am very proud of. I live gluten-free since I have been allergic to wheat ever since childhood. My website "Gluten Free Fever" can tell you all about living gluten-free in Portland, OR...and I can tell you for certain, there's tons of great stuff in this town. I'm an avid bicyclist. I love all sorts of riding: mountain biking, commuting, cyclocross, and BMX. I enjoyed playing outside in the dirt since I was a kid, and I guess that's something I will never outgrow. My other interests include music, swimming, TRX training, yoga, reading, fiction (I'm a sucker for debut novels), libraries, cooking (and eating) gluten-free, blogging, and knitting. I currently live in Portland, Oregon, where I covet and cherish any sunny day that happens to come along.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Great Harvest Bread Company Just Got Greater! « Allergy Shmallergy - 03/10/2012

    [...] you’ll land some amazing bread.  Check out these photos and review from glutenfreefever.com: Thursdays are the BEST at Great Harvest Bread Co in Hillsboro. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

